Stop Walmart from killing jobs in NYC

Sign the petition below to let Walmart know that in tough economic times like these, the last thing we need is a job-destroying low-road employer taking over our city’s economy:

When Walmart enters a community, it kills three retail jobs for every two poverty-wage job it “creates.”
After a Walmart opened in Chicago, 25% of existing retail businesses surveyed within four miles eventually closed. We must prevent this from happening in our communities, which are devastated by high unemployment.

We urge our local elected officials to bring good jobs to our communities, not companies like Walmart that lower the average wage in an area and destroy existing, local jobs!

Optional Member Code


This petition has a goal of 1000 signatures
1-25 of 3577 signatures
Number Date Name Location
3577 Sun Jul 06 14:22:00 EDT 2014 Carole Theaux NY,
3576 Thu Jun 19 18:04:42 EDT 2014 Susan Panariello New York,
3575 Sat Jun 07 18:24:12 EDT 2014 M. Ndigo Washington New York, Walmart is only concerned about increasing their own profits. NYers deserve a more responsible employer. No Walmart in NYC!!
3574 Sat May 31 17:23:33 EDT 2014 Chimene Bruno Brooklyn, No Walmart, please
3573 Fri May 16 03:07:05 EDT 2014 Alexander Sanchez Daytona beach, Wal-Mart hurts the economy destroy other retailers and very low wages.
3572 Fri May 16 03:00:41 EDT 2014 Alexander Sanchez Daytona beach,
3571 Tue Apr 22 01:08:00 EDT 2014 Julio Meza New York,
3570 Tue Apr 22 01:07:57 EDT 2014 Julio Meza New York,
3569 Wed Apr 02 11:25:01 EDT 2014 kimberly saget valley stream,
3568 Mon Mar 17 15:51:11 EDT 2014 Adam Kiser Brooklyn,
3567 Wed Nov 27 11:21:45 EST 2013 Kristie Maduro Brooklyn,
3566 Wed Nov 20 19:40:53 EST 2013 Georgia Atkins Bayonne,
3565 Wed Nov 20 14:35:32 EST 2013 Ashok Kondabolu Brooklyn,
3564 Tue Nov 19 13:06:34 EST 2013 Jeremy Parker New York, Walmart is an enemy of the people. Please keep up the good work in protecting us from them. Thank you!
3563 Tue Nov 19 13:00:05 EST 2013 doreen danielson brookyn,
3562 Sun Nov 17 13:48:39 EST 2013 Sarah Miller Brooklyn,
3561 Sun Nov 17 13:26:38 EST 2013 April Lutheran Brooklyn,
3560 Thu Oct 17 13:29:06 EDT 2013 Kevin Kanellakis Rego Park,
3559 Tue Oct 01 17:47:10 EDT 2013 Luke Landis New York City,
3558 Fri Sep 20 21:41:36 EDT 2013 taryn Mayes Atlanta,
3557 Fri Sep 20 21:39:33 EDT 2013 taryn Mayes Atlanta,
3556 Mon Sep 09 02:43:04 EDT 2013 Marina Roselli Staten Island,
3555 Thu Aug 29 02:56:03 EDT 2013 Christopher Rizzo Astoria, Walmart is hyprocritical. The can sell guns in their store, but they sensor music and movies and refuse to sell them. There is no harm in Free speech. There is no balance. Very against this business and More....
3554 Sun Aug 25 21:08:52 EDT 2013 Jean-Louis Bourgeois New York,
3553 Sun Aug 25 21:08:51 EDT 2013 Jean-Louis Bourgeois New York,
Next ->