Increase the Minimum Wage to a Living Wage Now!

A Living Wage – It’s Good for ALL New Yorkers!

 

The Tompkins County Workers’ Center agrees with New York State Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver that a raise in the Minimum Wage is long overdue, but we take it one step further: all workers should be able to support themselves on their hard-earned pay. That is not possible on $8.50 an hour, as Silver proposes.

We believe that the Minimum Wage should be $12.78 an hour. This is a Living Wage, and is calibrated to allow workers to purchase health insurance through Healthy NY. The Tompkins County Workers’ Center believes that no full-time worker should have to depend on public assistance. This is why we believe the only fair Minimum Wage is a Living Wage.

I agree: The Minimum Wage Must Be Increased to a Living Wage Now!
Optional Member Code

This petition has a goal of 5000 signatures
1-25 of 128 signatures
Number Date Name Location
128 Tue Jul 22 14:25:39 EDT 2014 Heidi Hartman Newfield, NY
127 Mon Apr 14 17:56:41 EDT 2014 Gail Neely NY
126 Mon Apr 14 11:04:11 EDT 2014 Barry Maxwell Ithaca, NY
125 Sun Feb 09 20:50:47 EST 2014 Neal Pritchard CORNING, NY
124 Thu Feb 06 12:23:47 EST 2014 Alita Howard Ithaca, NY
123 Wed Dec 04 22:03:37 EST 2013 Alice Grow Newfield, NY
122 Sat Oct 19 21:31:47 EDT 2013 Sara Schaffzin Ithaca, NY
121 Fri Oct 11 00:44:34 EDT 2013 Keima Udoka Ithaca, NY
120 Mon Sep 30 10:31:31 EDT 2013 Gary Rose Marathon, NY
119 Thu Sep 19 17:04:22 EDT 2013 Laura Illiano Newfield, NY
118 Mon Sep 09 12:40:00 EDT 2013 Rachal Owen Moravia, NY
117 Mon Sep 02 12:27:20 EDT 2013 caroline byrne ithaca, NY
116 Fri Aug 30 09:08:28 EDT 2013 Irene Case Ithaca, NY
115 Fri Aug 09 18:07:00 EDT 2013 Corrine Bruno Ithaca, NY
114 Sat Jul 13 14:14:55 EDT 2013 Claire Berian Ithaca, NY
113 Mon Jul 01 07:16:00 EDT 2013 Helen Closs Freeville, NY
112 Mon Jun 10 11:02:42 EDT 2013 Stephanie Giordano-Foster Ithaca, NY
111 Tue Jun 04 23:43:22 EDT 2013 Kasey Wszolek newfield, NY
110 Tue May 28 13:40:02 EDT 2013 Teresa Grady Ithaca, NY
109 Sun May 26 09:40:38 EDT 2013 Martha Taranto Ithaca, NY
108 Wed May 15 03:30:25 EDT 2013 Patricia Nash Ithaca, NY
107 Tue Feb 19 19:29:56 EST 2013 shannon stryker brooktondale, NY
106 Thu Feb 14 19:52:53 EST 2013 Jessica Stewart ithaca, NY
105 Tue Jan 29 15:36:18 EST 2013 Susan Axtell Watkins Glen, NY
104 Tue Dec 11 13:52:19 EST 2012 Michael Poole NY
Next ->

Tompkins County Workers’ Center

115 E. Martin Luther King, Jr. Street (above Autumn Leaves Used Books), Ithaca,  New York 14850

(607) 269-0409    TCWRH@tcworkerscenter.org    www.TCWorkersCenter.org